Loading Events

« All Events

Yanis Varoufakis interviews Omar Barghouti

24/05/2021 // 21:00 22:00 EEST

While the massacre in Gaza is ongoing, and the repression of Palestinians everywhere is intensifying, how can progressives show meaningful solidarity with those suffering from, and struggling against, Israel’s regime of occupation, settler-colonialism and apartheid? Looking to a future worth fighting for, is this the time for a SINGLE DEMOCRATIC STATE for Jews and Palestinians? Is the two-state solution the right objective for progressives or a formalisation of apartheid? To discuss these questions, on Monday 24th May 2021 at 19.30BST, 20.30 CET, 21.30EET Yanis Varoufakis, MeRA25 leader and DiEM25 co-founder, will interview Omar Barghouti, co-founder of the BDS movement for Palestinian rights (*), co-recipient of the 2017 Ghandi Peace Award.

(*) BDS has emerged as a consensus movement that is increasingly recognized around the world, by trade unions, social movements, racial and climate justice groups, churches, among others, as the most effective form of solidarity with the Palestinian struggle for freedom, justice and equality. Instead of adopting a specific political solution, it strategically focuses on ending international complicity in Israel’s system of oppression, as was done in the struggle to end South African apartheid.

meta

GO BACK